Our Sections

Our Sections


We currently only have one active Squirrel Drey, in Crouch Valley, this is the newest section for children aged 4 and 5 years old.

They belong to the first and youngest Section in the Scout Group. Girls and boys can join Squirrels from their 4th birthday. They can move to the next Section, Beavers. at the age of 6.

Squirrels are the youngest section of the Scouting family, and just like all our sections, Squirrels helps young people gain skills for life – with a focus on the outdoors.

It’s the best of Scouts – learning by doing and getting into the great outdoors – combined with early years best practice of storytelling, routine and play.

Beaver Scouts

Beaver Scouts are young people usually aged between 6 and 8 years old.
They belong to the first and youngest Section in the Scout Group. Girls and boys can join Beaver Scouts from three months leading up to their 6th birthday. They can move to the next Section, Cub Scouts, between 7¾ and 8½.

Beaver Scouts are the youngest section of the Scouting family. Their activities are based around making things, outdoor activities, singing, playing games, going out on visits, investigating nature, listening to stories, learning how to be safe and most importantly, making new friends.

Cub Scouts

Cub Scouts are girls and boys aged 8-10½ years who form the second section in the Scouting family between the Beaver and Scout sections.

Cubs usually meet each week and will get a chance to try lots of different activities like swimming, music, exploring, computing and collecting. There are a range of badges available which Cub Scouts can wear on their uniforms to show everyone how well they’re doing.

Cub Scouts also get to go on trips and days out, to places like the zoo, theme parks or a farm. Sometimes they will be able to go camping with the rest of the Pack and take part in all kinds of outdoor activities.
Cub Scouts belong to packs led by a Cub Scout Leader and work in teams called Sixes led by a senior Cub Scout called a Sixer.


The Scout Section is for young people, usually aged between 10½ and 14 years.

A young person can come into the Troop at 10 and may stay until they are 14½ years old. The Scout Troop is the third section in the Scout Group.

Scouts are encouraged to take part in a wide range of activities as part of their programme. “Participation” rather than meeting set standards is the key approach and for the Scout who wants to be recognised for their achievements there are a number of Challenges Awards and Activity Badges.

Being outdoors is an important part of the Programme, focusing on both the traditional Scouting skills, such as camping, survival and cooking as well as the wide range of adventurous activities, anything from abseiling to yachting.

Explorer Scouts

Explorer Scouts are young people, usually aged between 14 and 18 years old.

They make up the fourth Section of the Scouting family. There are many types of Explorer Scout Units, some may be linked to your local Scout Group, others may be based around specific activities. Explorer Scouts get the chance to work with others in the District, not just their Unit. By doing this, they will get the chance to do many more activities, not just the ones their Unit organises.

The Explorer Scout programme offers a balanced range of activities covering the outdoors & adventure, skills, physical recreation, community, global, and values & relationships. An important part of the programme are the expeditions that Explorer Scouts need to complete to gain their Chief Scout Awards.

To support the programme there are a range of badges and awards for the Explorer Scout: the Chief Scout’s Platinum and Diamond Awards; the Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards; Explorer Belt; activity badges; Group awards and Moving-On award to the Scout Network. The Activity Badges cover: air activities; community; creative; emergency aid; lifesaver; mountain activities; recreation; science & technology; scouting skills; nautical skills; water activities plus the staged badges available to the Beaver, Cub and Scout sections.

The Explorer Scout Unit is run under the leadership of adults responsible for supporting the programme, training Explorer Scouts, mentoring the Unit, managing the Unit and maintaining effective communications within the Unit, the District, Scout Groups and other agencies with which there are links.

Scout Network

Scout Network is the final youth section in Scouting, aimed at those aged 18 to 25.

Network is open to all 18-25 year olds within the Association, and provides endless opportunities for its members. From gorge walking, hiking, and trips abroad, there’s always loads on offer, giving Network members a massive selection of things to do. Network is also the last section in which you can complete the Queen’s Scout Award.

Network is flexible, If you’re already a Leader and between the ages of 18 and 25, then you can still be an active member of Network. If your time only allows you the opportunity to take part in Network activities once a month, then that’s fine too. Likewise, if you go away to university, through your local Network you can contact your nearest Network to Uni and continue your Scouting whilst you’re there.

Unlike our other sections, Scout Networks are run by their members – they choose what activities they do, organise them and then enjoy them. With the support of their District Network Commissioner, they manage the running of their section including administration and finance – great skills to include on a CV!

Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls